HTML

theatr&...

Want to imbibe some culture but haven't a clue what's going on in the city? This new artsy blog is meant for you then! First hand information delivered in English.

Like?

What's On?

Topics

Contact

Get engaged! Send your programs, ideas or writings to theatrand [@] gmail [.] com .

In Cooperation With

News feed

XML

From the beautiful life of bikes

theatrandu 2011.02.21. 10:04

Just a piece of metal, personalized...

Blue bicycle, Cameleon, Pisti (also known as Esteban), Duplanga, the Phosphoress, Gute Luise, Rusty, Schwung, Fehér ló fia (the legendary son of a***White Horse, of course), Tinker Bell, Wild Strawberry….just to mention some of the bikes I owned in my life. ‘Hey’ – you say – ‘don’t you know that these two-wheeled beasts are for t.r.a.n.s.p.o.r.t.a.t.i.o.n?!’ Or even worse, you might be the type who unlocks his iron horse only once a year on a sunny Saturday just to show off in the office. Are you? Then you definitely don’t understand how Pisti soothes me on my lonely rides after a night out or how Gute Luise tells me all her intimate dreams on a stormy down-hill slope.

So human, so real
Every bike has a different personality. They are born and come into being through you. There are no two bikes that have exactly the same life story: one might be sad, ending in a garage or in the watercourse of the Tisza; one might be full defined by adventurous landscapes and smell of adrenaline; or living a life of a gigolo.
With her first exhibition in Szeged Anna Fenyvesi proves that this is not just a cracked phantasy: “From the beautiful life of bikes”  shows that bicycles can be astonishingly human-like. We can see bikes in different phases of their lives; photographed Among relatives, Cheek to cheek The two of us. As long as you are small all you need is to be With mom. Later you fall in love, Walk against the sunset but a Threesome in pairs can disturb the idyllic picture. Waiting for spring, you might end up Forlorn as a mere Shadow bike. If you want to know how an ordinary iron horse spends her day or how bikes can turn easily into Amphibians you have to stop by at Grand Café and see yourself.
Show me your bikes and I tell you who you are
When I look at a bike, wherever in the world it may be, I imagine the person behind it. A true companion, a representation human existence. As the photographer Anna Fenyvesi confessed: “The bicycle has become an important part of my life over the years. It has been for the past 13 years my sole means of transport in Szeged, where I live (I’m only scared off of it by a solid coating of ice on the roads); it is my favorite vehicle (because it is eco-friendly), my life style (a key to my personal freedom), a favorite theme of photography (the photos exhibited here were picked out of about a hundred bike pictures), and an important metaphor of my existence (reaching my goal with the help of a simple but wonderful object, out of my own strength).”
 

FROM THE BEAUTIFUL LIFE OF BIKES photo exhibition – Grand Café (Szeged, 18. Deák Ferenc u.), on through March 16

 

 



Tags: szeged art

Leave a comment

Trackback address for this post::

https://theatrand.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr392676451

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

No feedback.
süti beállítások módosítása